Bob Metcalfe gets Turing Award for work creating Ethernet

The 2022 ACM A.M. Turing Award typically described as the “Nobel Reward in Computing,” went to Robert (Bob) Melancton Metcalfe for the innovation, standardization, and commercialization of Ethernet.

Ethernet was very first developed in 1973 and it performed at 2.94 megabits per 2nd, about 10,000 times faster than the terminal networks it would change. While he was operating at the Xerox Palo Alto Proving Ground (PARC), Matcalfe distributed a memo that explained a “broadcast interaction network” to link a few of the very first computer systems within a structure.

Whereas the very first style proposed the network over a coax cable, this would be changed with “interaction over an ether,” that made the style versatile to future developments in media innovation to change the coax cable as the “ether.”

Metcalfe brought into play his understanding of ALOHAnet, a pioneering computer system networking system developed at the University of Hawaii, in the style of the Ethernet. He then hired David Boggs, a co-inventor of Ethernet, to assist develop a 100-node PARC Ethernet.

After leaving Xerox in 1979, Metcalfe stayed the primary evangelist for Ethernet and continued to direct its advancement while working to guarantee market adoption of an open requirement.

Metcalfe is an Emeritus Teacher of Electrical and Computer System Engineering (ECE) at The University of Texas at Austin and a Research Study Affiliate in Computational Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Innovation (MIT) Computer Technology & & Expert System Lab (CSAIL).

The winner of the 2021 ACM A.M. Turing Award was John Dongarra of the University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Lab for pioneering contributions to mathematical algorithms and libraries that allowed high-performance computational software application to equal rapid hardware enhancements for over 4 years.

The 2020 award went to Alred Vaino Aho and Jeffrey David Ullman for their deal with essential algorithms and theory and the 2019 award went to Pixar leaders Edwin E. Catmull and Patrick M. Hanrahan for advancing computer system graphic style.

The award brings a $1 million reward with financial backing offered by Google and is called after Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical structures of computing.

Extra information are readily available here

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Leave a Reply

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: